Christmas Star Ornaments

I’ve been keeping tabs on a lot of good DIY ornaments and decorations for the holidays coming up, so I wanted to try to make these stars. They’re super cute! The cool thing about these stars is that they’re super quick to make and you can use them as ornaments or even present toppers.

You will need:

>>a pair of scissors

>>pipe cleaners

>>cookie cutters (I used a star, but you could use a tree or bell shape, or whatever you want really!)

>>fabric scraps

>>twine or yarn

Christmas Star Ornaments

You can use an old flannel t-shirt or scraps of fabric you have laying around. You can also go to Joann’s and browse their remnants section and pick up some good pieces for less than a dollar (that’s what I did!).

Let’s start!

Take your pipe cleaner and wrap it around the cookie cutter. Don’t worry if your pipe cleaner bends out of shape when you’re wrapping it. You can redo the bends or change the shape!

DIY Christmas Stars

You might have to cut a bit off the end of your pipe cleaner, depending on the size of your cookie cutter. Twist the two ends together to hold the shape.

DIY Christmas Stars

Take your fabric and cut it into thin strips. I started with about a 1/2″ strips, but ended up cutting that down to 1/4″. Don’t worry if your fabric frays at all. That just adds to the rustic charm! Start to the side of one of the points and wrap the fabric around once or twice to get it to stay. I ended up using two strips of my fabric. Just make sure you wrap the ends a little to get it to stay.

DIY Christmas Stars

If you have enough fabric left over, you can use it to tie a bow to hang your ornament from. I didn’t quite have enough, so I tied it in a knot and cut off the excess. Then use your twine or yarn to tie a loop so you can hang it.

DIY Christmas Stars

Don’t forget your selfie!

DIY Christmas Stars

I hope you enjoyed this DIY project, and don’t forget to follow us on Twitter for more updates! @diyselfie2014

 

Leave a comment